The Subcommission (ISOS)



Unité EVO ECO PALEO – Evolution, Ecologie et Paléontologie
Université de Lille – Sciences et Technologies
Bâtiment SN5, 59655 Villeneuve d’Ascq Cedex, FRANCE
Tel: +33 (0)3 20 33 72 20

Dr. Thomas Servais is Research Director at the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), based at the University of Lille. Trained as a geologist and palaeontologist in Namur and Liège (Belgium), he continued post-doctoral research in Berlin (Germany) and at the British Geological Survey (Keyworth-Nottingham, UK), working on the biostratigraphy, palaeoecology and palaeogeography of different fossil groups, in particular the enigmatic microfossil group of the acritarchs.

Vice Chairman


ZHAN Renbin
State Key Laboratory of Paleobiology and Stratigraphy
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology (NIGP)
Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing, 210008, CHINA
Tel: +86 25 83282132

Zhan Renbin, a research professor at the Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology (NIGP), got his bachelor degree in Nanjing University in June 1986, and PhD at NIGP in June 1994. He spent one year in the Natural History Museum London doing postdoc with Dr. Robin Cocks as his host from December 1996 to December 1997. Beginning from 1999, Renbin was invited to visit the University of Western Ontario and the Laurentian University 7 times with a duration from 13 to 3 months collaborating with Prof. Jisuo Jin and Prof. Paul Copper respectively. He is now the director of NIGP, vice chair of ISOS, chair of Asian Palaeontological Association (APA), secretary-general of International Palaeontological Association (IPA), an associate editor of Journal of Paleontology, and a member of the editorial board of Alcheringa. As the organizer or one of the co-organizers, he has already organized 6 international symposia, conferences and congresses in China for the Lower Paleozoic community since 1998.

Working on the Early Paleozoic (mainly Ordovician and Silurian) brachiopods and stratigraphy for more than 30 years, Zhan Renbin has published 8 systematic monographs dealing with several Ordovician and Silurian brachiopod faunas from South China, North China, Tarim, Sibumasu, North America, etc. He has also initiated the case studies on the Great Ordovician Biodiversification Event (GOBE) in China, and discovered several basic characteristics of GOBE including the diversity pattern, paleoecological style, and paleogeographical control.

Past Chairman


Andrey V. DRONOV
Professor, Geological Institute,
Russian Academy of Sciences,
Pyzhevsky per.7, 119017 Moscow, RUSSIA
Tel: 495-230-81-17

Dr Andrey Dronov is the Leading Scientist in the Laboratory of Phanerozoic Stratigraphy of the Geological Institute of Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow. He was previously Professor of Geology and Head of the Department of Historical Geology in the Geological Faculty of St.Petersburg State University. His main fields of interest are sequence stratigraphy, sea-level changes, carbonate sedimentology, and trace fossils and facies analysis. He has published 3 monographs including textbook on Palaeoichnology as well as over 60 scientific articles. The main regions of his field research include Central Asia (Tien Shan Mountains and Pamirs), Ordovician of Baltoscandia and Ordovician of the Siberian Platform.



CNRS - Université de Lyon 1
Bâtiment GEODE, 69622 Villeurbanne Cedex, FRANCE
Tel: +33 (0)4 72 43 28 34

Bertrand LEFEBVRE is a specialist of Ordovician echinoderms (in particular ‘carpoids’). He studied in London (UK) and Lyon (France), where he defended his PhD in 1999. He was then recruited as CNRS researcher in Dijon (France) in 2001, and since 2007, he is back in Lyon. He was president of the French Palaeozoic Working Group (GFP, 2004-2011) and of the French Stratigraphic Committee (CFS, 2012-2015). In the past 20 years, he was largely involved in the description of the Lower Ordovician Fezouata Biota (Morocco), contributing to advances on palaeontological, sedimentologic, stratigraphic, and taphonomic aspects of this Lagerstätte.


  • Sachiko AGEMATSU-WATANABE (Japan)
  • Matilde BERESI (Argentina)
  • André DESROCHERS (Canada)
  • Mansoureh GHOBADI POUR (Iran)
  • Daniel GOLDMAN (USA)
  • Lars HOLMER (Sweden)
  • Petr KRAFT (Czech Republic)
  • Patrick I. McLAUGHLIN (USA)
  • Tõnu MEIDLA (Estonia)
  • Leon NORMORE (Australia)
  • Elena RAEVSKAYA (Russia)
  • Alycia STIGALL (USA)
  • Tatiana TOLMACHEVA (Russia)
  • WANG Wenhui (China)
  • Charles WELLMAN (United Kingdom)
  • Seth YOUNG (USA)
  • Yong Yi ZHEN (Australia)